City Government
Clay Center has a Mayor-Council form of government.  The four member City Council is composed of four representatives from the City.  Councilmember's are elected for four-year staggering terms.   
The Mayor is elected at large and serves a four year term. The Mayor presides at all meetings of the City Council and votes only when his vote would be the deciding vote. 
The City Council meets in the Community Room at 219 W Fairfield St on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m.  Every citizen is welcome and encouraged to attend.
City Council Members:
    L. Wayne Johnson - Mayor
    Nanette Shackelford - President
    Doug Huffaker
    John Story
    Allen Swenson
Contact Info: or 402-762-3356
County Government
Clay Center is the site of the Clay County Courthouse which provides
services such as voter registration, motor vehicle registration, driver
licensing, Register of Deeds, Assessor, Social and Senior Services, County
and District Court and County Treasurer.
Clay County has 16 townships and is governed by a seven-member Board
of Supervisors, who are elected by popular vote for four-year terms. County
zoning classifications are:
    General Agricultural
    Agricultural Industrial
    Highway Commercial

Fire Protection
Fire protection is provided to Clay Center by a volunteer fire
department. The fire department also operates the Rural Fire District's
equipment in providing protection outside the city limits and serves on
mutual aid calls.

Law Enforcement

Police Department
Clay Center employs one part time police officer.

Sheriff's Department
The Clay County Sheriff's Department in Clay Center is staffed by several
full-time and part-time employees. Regular patrol provides protection
to existing industries by the police and sheriff's departments.

State Patrol
There are four Nebraska state patrolmen serving Clay Center.